“It’s not the wack joints ya used to”


Hip-hop Ain’t Dead Cause the Pulse is in Us.
November 3, 2008, 4:11 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

Yo aybody listen up! I got great news: HIP HOP IS NOT DEAD.  Unfortunately, radio and BET have died for the most part, or at the very best they are both in vegetative states waiting for somebody to euthanize them.

Hip-hop on the other hand has a future.  It’s not dead, but cryogenically frozen.  I hate to make a Star Wars reference cause I know thats not whats poppin in the streets right now, but it’s fitting.

Remember when Han Solo was cryo-frozen in The Empire Strikes Back? Of course.  Then he comes back in Return of the Jedi and helps nail the Death Star.  Hip-hop has a few gun-slingers creepin up to stop all this nonsense that started with awful Akon hooks ad-nauseum and hopefully ends with Plies shitty chick-targeted singles.

The two premier rappers are my boy WALE reppin DC and BLU coming from Los Angeles.

As far as I know Wale has been on the scene for the past few years, and the dudes brings it all to the table.  He’s got energy, content, witty lyrics, and a ton of mainstream pop appeal.  His style is kinda like Kanye West and Lupe Fiasco combined.  He’s got a lot of…although I can’t stand this word…swag.

Wale – Breakdown

Wale- W.A.L.E.D.A.N.C.E.

Blu also spits with a lot of energy and passion.  His flow is ridiculous, and his content deals with everyday life as a regular dude.  He reminds me of Common, but with a more energetic flow.

“but for me it’s even harder, cuz I ain’t got a car to pick them up in
some chicks already think they put enough in
plus I’m kind of cute so it’s hard for them to trust him
asking what I’m doing every night like I be screwing every night, what?”

Blu – Blu Colla Worka

These guys are the future of hip-hop.  I encourage you guys to check out their music.  Tomorrow,  I’m gonna post up some links to some Wale mixtapes and Blu’s Below the Heavens.

-Pops


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Charles Hamilton may help save hip-hop too. What I’ve heard from his mixtapes are way fun.

Comment by Wild Man




Leave a comment